St. Peter's Cross Keys

C of E Academy

Nurturing a life-long love of learning

Local Governing Body

 St. Peter's Cross Keys C of E Primary Academy Governing Body



Chair of Governors                                             Alex Raynor


Vice Chair of Governors                                     Tessa Durham


Clerk to the Governors                                       Caspia Baird



Committee's, Responsibilities and Panel Chairs


Accountability Panel One


Covers: Pupils, Parents & Curriculum (PPC)                Alex Raynor


Accountability Panel Two


Covers: Finance, Pay & Personnel (FP&P)                   Vacant June 2020 - temporary Chair -                                                                                              Alex Raynor


Governor Training Coordinator                       Vacant June 2020


Safeguarding  & Special Needs                        Alex Raynor



Name                                                               Category of Governor


Jessica Colson                                                   Diocesan 

Vacancy                                                               Co-opted

Alex Raynor                                                        Co-opted

Liz Duffell                                                            Head

Vacancy                                                               Local Authority

Tessa Durham                                                     Parent

Jo Hoult                                                               Staff

Lynn Sedgwick                                                   Associate (no voting rights)

Vacancy                                                               Co-opted

Ashley Haggett                                                   Parent

Rev'd Elizabeth Murray                                       Ex-Officio




Committee Details for 2019-2020 Academic Year


Membership of each committee and chairs appointed at first Full Governing Body Meeting of the academic year, during the autumn term.


Full governors 


All governors attend, three meetings per year, one per term.


Accountability One 


Primarily to discuss matters of strategic development.


Panel members: Chair Alex Raynor, Tessa Durham, Jessica Colson, Joanne Hoult, Rev Murray, Liz Duffell


Accountability Two


Primarily to discuss items relating to finance, personnel and pay


Panel Members: Chair Tracey Hart (resigned June 2020), Jessica Colson, Ashley Haggett, Liz Duffell, Lynn Sedgwick. Temporary Chair - Alex Raynor, with Tessa Durham sitting on this panel until new governors are recruited/appointed.


Link Governor Roles:


SEND – Mrs Raynor/Mrs Durham

Pupil premium & Covid Catch Up Funding– Mrs Durham

Sports Funding – vacant pending Miss Hart's resignation

Governor development/training – vacant pending Miss Hart's resignation

Safeguarding/LAC/safer recruitment – Mrs Raynor

Staff absence – Mrs Raynor/Mrs Sedgwick

SEF chairs of panels – Mrs Raynor, Mrs Durham

Staff wellbeing – Mr Haggett/Mrs Cummings

Well worker – Mr Haggett/Mrs Sedgwick

SIAMS and Christian distinctiveness – Rev Murray/Mrs Colson

GDPR – Mrs Colson

Attendance – Mrs Raynor

Health and safety – Mrs Colson.

In addition, the following links to the SIP were agreed:

Priority 1: Reading for Pleasure – vacant pending Miss Hart's resignation

Priority 2: Maths – Mrs Durham

Priority 3: Curriculum development – Mrs Raynor

Priority 4: SIAMS – Mrs Colson.



Membership of committees, link's and chair's to be determined in first Full Governing Body meeting in Autumn 2020 for the 2020-2021 academic year.  First meeting is 1st December 2020.

St. Peter's Cross Keys Academy - Details of Governors
Name Position Other roles Appointed








& Pecuniary interests

Governance roles

in other




governors & 


Attendance record 

over last Academic Year


AP1=Strategic Development

AP2=Finance, Personnel & Pay

Summer Term - only FGB held re Covid-19

Mrs Alexandra Raynor

Chair of Governors




Chair of Strategic Development

18 May 2017

(previously parent governor)

to May 2021  

1. Governor Clerk for NCC

2. Self employed as Clerk for Carlton Le Willows

3. Director of RCAN

see previous column none

Full 2/3

Strategic Development Committee 2/2

Reverend Elizabeth Murray



  23 April 2018 to April 2022  

1. Local reverend

2. on Diocesan Board of Education Board

(Southwell & Nottinghamshire) 


Governor at Elston All Saints Primary, Newark none

Full 2/3

Strategic Development Committee 2/2

Lynn Sedgwick

Associate Governor

No voting rights

  5 October 2015 to May 2023   School Business Manager at St. Peter's Cross Keys Academy none none

Full 3/3

Finance Personnel & Pay 2/2

Jessica Colson Foundation Governor Health & Safety Governor 18 May 2018 to May 2022   Church Warden & Safeguarding Officer at St. Peter's Church, Farndon none none

Full 3/3

Finance, Personnel & Pay 2/2

Strategic Development 1/2

Joanne Hoult Staff Governor   6 March 2018  to March 2022   Year 1 Teacher St. Peter's Cross Keys Academy none none

Full 2/3 (missed virtual meeting as was teaching )

Strategic Development 2/2

Tracey Hart

Local Authority Governor

(Previously parent governor)

Chair of Finance, Personnel & Pay Committee 26 April 2016 to October 2021


11 June 2020

none none none

Full 1/2 before resignation

FPP 2/2

Elizabeth Duffell Head Teacher   1 January 2010 ongoing   Head Teacher at St. Peter's Cross Keys Academy none none

Full 3/3

FPP 2/2

Strategic Development 1/2

Tessa Durham Parent Governor   12 May 2017 to May 2021   none none none

Full 3/3

Strategic Development 2/2

Jane Starbuck Co-opted Governor   7 October 2015 to October 2019

retired at end of term of office

October 2019

Newark Schools Town SENCo none none

Term of office ended

Oct 2019

Full 0/1

Strategic Development 1/1

Ashley Haggett Parent Governor   22 November 2018 November 2022   none none none

Full 3/3

Finance, Personnel & Pay



Southwell and Nottinghamshire Multi Academy Trust